Today, I’m going to talking all about hippie fashion. And not just fashion. I’ll be talking about music and shows from the 1960s/1970s. Let’s get started!

Now, the fashion back then was all pretty simple. From bell bottoms to bell-sleeved dresses. If you have parents who grew up during those times (I’m talking about parents who were teenagers back then), maybe they kept some of their clothes. And if not, try some thrift stores in your area. Sometimes stores like nastygal.com have some bell-sleeved dresses. If you’re a fashion designer like moi, you know what to do to some of your old clothes to make them look like what the hippies wore. Now, so many girls are wearing the floral headbands. I’ve had girls walk up to me asking where they can get one. A few sites sell them. Two sites, for example, are thatmadonnagirl.com and saboskirt.com – both sites are amazing and I highly recommend you check them out! 

You must be asking, what kind of music should I listen to now that I’m wearing these hippie clothes? Back in those eras, people listened to the Grateful Dead, The Who, Janis Joplin, and similar bands/artists like that. But in those eras, they didn’t have iPod’s and iTunes like we do today. They had record players and LP’s, or vinyl records. You don’t necessarily need to buy a record player and vinyls. We have technology. Download them from iTunes, but if you want to buy a record player and vinyls, I would suggest going to amazon.com to look for record players. As for vinyls, urbanoutfitters.com sells them for a little under twenty bucks or so.

As for shows, those eras had shows like The Monkees, I Dream of Jeannie, and Gilligan’s Island. You can easily find these shows on Antenna TV, if you have that channel. Or you can rent the collection at your local library. Or you can just buy the collection if you feel like you might like it. Shows like the ones I have mentioned are perfect to watch on a rainy day. I, however, love watching these old shows anytime because they make me smile. I’m only 21-years-old, but I love my oldies. Call me old-fashioned, call me an old soul, but I love it.

Now, that you guys know the fashion, music, and television shows, what is your favorite television show? Favorite band/artist? Favorite trend? I love reading comments from my lovely readers. Next post will about about New Years’ Resolutions and how-to keep them. I’ve got to go because a I see a bagel and a drink calling my name. Happy Holidays! xoxo ❤

